MMXVII


Hello 2017!!!

First up, I’m extremely disappointed that the email I wrote to future me did not get delivered because I refuse to monetarily support their cause 😒.

So I decided since I am currently on the road, with lots of time, this is a perfect opportunity to put down my thoughts on this here blog of mine.

2016 started off on a crazy tangent and it has been a fun and exhilarating ride. I partied a whole lot this year, I have had so many epic nights coupled with memory loss that I cannot count. Iv met so many cool people during these escapades which made them even more memorable.

Work wise, 2016 was a very fruitful year filled with lots of learning curves and topped up with a whole lot of stress. I took on a new role where I ended up learning so much while at the same time building a legacy for myself.

I got a new job which I started in December and it was extremely hard leaving the place I called home for over 8 years (yes I am that old).

When it comes to matters of the Martians, 2016 was just extremely liberating.

“Guard your heart for it is the wellspring of life.” Proverbs 4:24

Apart from John 3:16 this may be the only other bible verse that I know.

After the great heartbreak of 2015 I think my heart is safely locked far far away. I am still trying to figure out if I am so far gone and have become an emotionless woman.

But it feels nice not wanting to make homes out of people, not building fairytales out of mole hills. I have had my fun without having to settle on anyone, and not getting bothered about not being settled on.

With regard to my health, I am now the fattest I have ever been. It’s hard staying healthy and regularly working out when you are busy, or there’s no help in the house. It’s also hard because I was not really motivated (aka I was happy).

As for my friendships, I built new ones, strengthened old ones, lost touch with some while others where tried and tested.

I won’t lie, I’m kind of considering not cosnciously making new friends because I have so many and it is becoming so difficult maintaining those friendships. It’s now become the case of quality over quantity, I’d rather be a good friend to few rather than a friend to many.

As for my relationship with God, I’m still waiting for salvation and not necessarily seeking it. However, it has been refreshing taking responsibility for my own actions and situations, without blaming God for everything that happens.

2016 was all in all a good year, and despite my fears I have great hopes for 2017. Here are a few things I hope to achieve this year:

-Have a memorable 30th birthday at the end of this month. I want a birthday bae and to travel somewhere on that day/week.

-I must graduate with my Masters this year. I plan on putting in all my effort towards completing my thesis by March. I’m crossing my fingers that graduation will be somewhere cool like London.

-I want to be diligent and ensure I am excellent at my job. I must win an industry accolade in my current role and if possible I’m aiming for Top 40 under 40.

-In 2017 I want to travel outside of Kenya more. Top 3 destinations are Dubai, South Africa and New York.

-I may have to concede to the pressure and move out of my parents house. I was waiting to be removed from there by my future husband but I think maybe living alone might be good for me.

-I have never been that chic who yearns for new cars but I am seriously considering getting some new wheels.

-I am working towards being debt free by the end of 2017. I also hope to improve how I manage my finances, this living beyond my means business has become a bit too played out.

-I want to loose 20 kgs by December 2017 and somehow make this a permanent lifestyle.

-I must get braces.

-I will know the man I will marry by December. By know I mean I will be with someone who I can picture spending the rest of my life with, and he will feel the same way about me.

-I want to be present this year for my family and friends and the milestones they will be going through.

-I plan on setting up a side hustle, I cannot continue being comfortable with a single source of income.

Finally, I want to let go of the fear of wanting good things in my life. I strongly believe these are all achievable goals that I am definitely worthy of. I am embracing nothing but good positive vibes in this brand spanking new year!

How was 2016 for you? What are you looking forward to or hoping for in 2017?

 

 

One thought on “MMXVII

  1. Pingback: A Letter from Future Me | Revealed

Leave a Reply

