Nairobi Restaurant Week: Day 4 – Monikos


Yesterday, us guys decided to go check out Monikos in Valley Arcade, just behind the Java. I had been there once before and their NRW menu seemed interesting.

I forgot to take a picture of the soup I had as a pre starter if I could call it that. I had the water cress and lemon soup which was simply delightful. I especially loved Monikos bread, it was so fresh and it tasted like cake.

Goat cheese served on a bed of beetroot and rucola, then drizzled with raspberry and balsamic reduction

Goat cheese served on a bed of beetroot and rucola, then drizzled with raspberry and balsamic reduction

I decided to go with a salad for my starter, such a horrid idea, I really should have gone with the ham. I had no idea goat cheese was so, for lack of a better word, goatie .. bleurgh. The leaves were also too vegetative for my palette, the only thing I enjoyed was the raspberry drizzled on the top. Needless to say, I barely touched this salad.

Grilled fillet of laikipia beef served with porcini mushroom and red wine sauce, topped with crispy onions and served with croquette potatoes and grilled vegetables.

Grilled fillet of laikipia beef served with porcini mushroom and red wine sauce, topped with crispy onions and served with croquette potatoes and grilled vegetables.

For my main course I had the beef fillet, it is buried under the crispy onions. The round looking thins is the croquette potatoes, I think they should have served 2 of them and not just one. The grilled veggies did not taste so good, specifically the egg plant bleurghh. The beef was perfectly done, soft, succulent and juicy.

My cousin had the duck dish below, which tasted amazing.

Duck braised in tree tomato, lemon grass and star aniseed, served with vegetable rice and a spicy vegetable spring roll

Duck braised in tree tomato, lemon grass and star aniseed, served with vegetable rice and a spicy vegetable spring roll

Monikos had listed the kenya tea parfait as the dessert, which to me sounded uber boring. Turns out they had 3 items on offer under that ‘umbrella’ if I could call it that. Icecream with ginger biscuit, tiramisu and cheese cake. Given the Nairobi heat we have been experiencing lately, I went with the icecream.

20140206_195735

I think those were strawberries, and they were delicious. As for the ice cream, it was the strangest thing, and colour. It really did not have a distinct flavour, and for some reason it wouldnt melt. We ate this dish with a fork and knife. There was nothing spectacular about this dish, I actually wish I went with the tiramisu.

Overall, I had a really lovely night with my girls yesterday 🙂

This is the last day I participated in NRW, my wallet may not allow me to continue, and my body hates me right now. But if you never got a chance to check it out, good news, Nairobi Restaurant Week was extended, check the site out for more details.

2 thoughts on “Nairobi Restaurant Week: Day 4 – Monikos

Leave a Reply

