2013 in review


It is the 12th of January so I think it would be very played out if I wished yall a happy new year. But I really hope 2014 has been good to you so far 🙂

As for me, 2014 seems to be going great so far. Strangely enough I have very high hopes for this year, and Lord knows I am not the most optimistic person in this here green earth, but it’s just a gut feeling that this year will be epic.

So I stumbled upon some questions on tumblr  which I thought would be an awesome way to review last year rather than using the 1st of the month format.

1: What did you do in 2013 that you’d never done before?

I went for a boat ride with my friends in Mombasa at Moorings in December and watched the sunset over the Indian Ocean. The view was amazing and we were such a fun bunch.

2013-12-30 16.36.47

2013-12-30 17.37.24 2013-12-30 18.18.46 2013-12-30 18.24.00

I also went for late night paint balling in Mombasa at the Gp Karting place. One word, never again. The bruises I got are finally healing after I was ambushed by the opposing team. It was dark and because of how humid Mombasa is, the helmets kept misting up and you could barely breath because of the heat. To be honest I did not enjoy it much and will never do it again, but I am glad I got it out of my system.

2: Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

Judging by this post, I guess I did keep my resolutions to be happy and laugh a lot? I am still not into the whole making resolutions things. I am more concerned about doing things before I grow older seeing that my birthday is at the end of January.

3: Did anyone close to you give birth?

I can count like 5 women in my life who gave birth to ironically bouncing little baby boys. It is rather reassuring that once I jump on that mummy train, there are more women who I can turn to for help 🙂

4: Did anyone close to you die?

My uncle passed away earlier this year, and some acquaintances. Death sucks.

5: What countries did you visit?

Sadly I never got to leave Kenya in 2013, but that is changing this year for certain.

6: What would you like to have in 2014 that you lacked in 2013

Stronger faith, wiser decisions, better health and less weight.

7: What dates from 2013 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

July 28th 2013. I know why and that’s all that counts.

8: What was your biggest achievement of the year?

I studied for a professional qualification and passed.

I exhibited my stuff at a local fashion fair.

9: What was your biggest failure?

Losing 2 phones in the dumbest way possible smh.

10: Did you suffer illness or injury?

I got stung by a bee in February and it got infected. My leg got swollen for days. That and the regular flus and tummy upsets.

11: What was the best thing you bought?

My Samsung Tablet. Best thing ever.

12: Whose behaviour merited celebration?

I have some amazing people in my life. I really should celebrate them more often and frequently.

13: Whose behaviour made you appalled?

The fact that I had an answer for this question before number 12 goes to show that I need to stop dwelling on the negativity and focusing on the good things that people do.

14: Where did most of your money go?

Food, alcohol, concerts, and gadgets.

15: What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Passing my exam, I screamed when I saw my results.

16: What song will always remind you of 2013?

There are too many songs, 1 would not suffice to be honest.

17: Compared to this time last year, are you: (a) happier or sadder? (b) thinner or fatter? (c) richer or poorer?

Happier, more or less the same weight, and same level of brokeness :p #Njaanuary

18: What do you wish you’d done more of?

Spent some more time with some friends who I have sort of lost touch with, and spend more time with my family as well.

19: What do you wish you’d done less of?

Drinking alcohol.

20: How did you spend Christmas?

We went to my uncle’s house and ate a whole lot and got to kick it with my extended family.

21: Did you fall in love in 2013?

Not love, more like falling in like and lust.

22: What was your favourite TV program?

Scandal #TeamOlitz

23: Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

Hate is a strong word. Let’s just say I saw a different side to some people which I did not fancy much.

24: What was the best book you read?

The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

25: What was your greatest musical discovery?

Zedd, his album Clarity is everything!

26: What did you want and get?

Nothing comes to mind apart from buying food and drinks lol Clearly I need to improve on my go getting skills this year.

27: What did you want and not get?

him … (s) … Them?

28: What was your favourite film of this year?

I didnt watch too many movies last year. ummm Olympus has fallen?

29: What one thing made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

I honestly cannot think of anything right now.

30: How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2013?

More dresses and accessorising is everything.

31: What kept you sane?

Tumblr, Buzzfeed, Thought Catalogue, Elite Daily and Paulo Coelho. They helped me leave my mind when I felt like my thoughts would drown me.

32: Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Brian, his music is just awesome.

33: What political issue stirred you the most?

The general elections in Kenya were held in 2013, and after that I vowed not to pay attention to politics. There was a time I used to fear someone would die and I wouldnt know if I didnt watch the news or read the paper. Now my cup of care is empty. I do not follow politics at all.

34: Who did you miss?

Him, no matter how much I try, he hasnt left my system completely le sigh.

My friends who live abroad.

My friends who are here but I dont hang out with because life apparently is in the way.

35: Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2013.

Anyone who wants to be a part of your life will find a way to be there.

36: Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

I dont care! I love it!

Feel free to take these 36 questions, they are quite thought provoking and  I promise you will not regret it. Make sure you share the link once you take them.

Big shout out to Nymmoh, I am sorry for neglecting the blog lol and thank you for always encouraging me to blog more 🙂

*end of page 520*

3 thoughts on “2013 in review

  1. Pingback: 2013 in review | My World My Experience

  2. See me! See me! I got a halla! *cartwheels*! I am so happy you are back. Great post, and keep the positivity up. This will be the year of happiness and satisfaction. It will be different, different epic. I feel it too 🙂 And if not we will have kept the faith and learnt many a thing, so either way champions

Leave a Reply

