Art Gallery Things


So about 2 weeks ago, my friend invited me to accompany her to an art gallery, where the works of one Sammy Lutaya were on display at the Michael Joseph Centre at Safaricom house. I am a sucker for trying out new things, especially bougie sounding things like visiting an art gallery.

First up, the security at that location is insane! I highly doubt I will be going back there again.

The gallery was very well organised, and Sammy is one amazingly talented artist.

I came to realise that the thing about art is that there can be very different interpretations of what we all see. The painter draws inspiration from some place, and the rest of us looking at their work interpret what we see in our own ways.

I think this piece was called The Mona Lisa

I think this piece was called The Mona Lisa

Such a pretty lady, I wonder who/what was behind her smile..

Maternal Affection

Maternal Affection

This beautiful piece of art costs Kshs 860,000 , yeah, feel free joining me as I contemplate making a career move to painting.

2013-08-13 18.38.35

All I could see in this piece was the illuminati triangle lol blame memes for my warped interpretation of this.

Pretty Shy

Pretty Shy

Seeing that I consider myself pretty shy, I was definitely drawn to this piece. Who has a spare Kshs 360,000 to buy this for me?

2013-08-13 18.44.36

I saw wolverine, or some warped version of him 🙂 My friend saw a fish. What do you see?

The singing diva

The singing diva

This was yet another pricey, but beautiful piece going for Kshs 740,000.

I am still wondering if anyone went home with one of Sammy’s pieces, I hope they did though, because he deserves to prosper with such talent.

In a nutshell, the event was awesome, we got so many rounds of free bitings, and free beverages. I am all about the freebies so I was one happy camper 🙂

I will definitely attend lots more of these type of events.

 

2 thoughts on “Art Gallery Things

Leave a Reply

