Dont wipe my ash!!


“When you fast, do not look somber as the hypocrites do, for they disfigure their faces to show men they are fasting. I tell you the truth, they have received their reward in full. But when you fast, put oil on your head and wash your face, so that it will not be obvious to men that you are fasting, but only to your Father, who is unseen”

(Matthew 6:16-18)

ASH

 

I went for mass today to mark the beginning of lent, and the sentence of the day should be ‘Don’t wipe my ash!’ since people keep thinking there is something wrong with my face lol.

I always like this time of the year, where I get to strengthen my connection with God, and test my self control. As usual I have given up social media, alcohol, and cursing. I think I will open a curse jar and put a 20 bob there every time I curse. At the end of lent I will donate the money to someone in need.

I also plan on going to church every week, I really have no excuse seeing that there is a church next to my office and in my hood. I want to pray more and write in my prayer journal every single day until it becomes a permanent habit.

At the end of this period, I really want to be closer to God, to focus on important things and to become a better person in general.

What are you giving up for lent?

Leave a Reply

