2012, the year that was…


The best part about having a blog is that I have somewhere to refer to when I am doing lame things like reviewing my year at the end of every year :p

I do not usually set new years resolutions or have any expectations for this year, which is good because i am sure if i did I would just have been disappointed, because that’s just how things usually work out *kanye shrug*.

The year started out with the usual summer bunny confusion, I had fun with him, though the last few days didnt turn out like i had envisioned, he is coming next month, we will see if anything will go down..

I had like 3 days of birthday celebrations, I loved every bit of it 🙂 I am already conjuring ideas of what to do next month , despite growing older, I am excited about it. If you are my friend, let me tell you early so that you guys can start saving up, I want a Michael Korrs watch, i blame tumblr for such cravings.

mk

i want!!

i want!!

i accept knock offs too :)

i accept knock offs too 🙂

As I grow older, I have come to love lent, I think that is the only time of the year I am the purest lol if that makes any sense. Word is that Lent in 2013 begins on Valentines day \o/, I never have a valentine so this wont be an issue for me lol.

If there was one thing I noticed about 2012 was the loss of so many young lives, be it through accidents, sickness or suicide. The world is not our home, but it sucks that some people had to leave so soon.

I joined a gym this year for the first time in my life, I think I started from March till June. I loved it, I am generally a lazy bum but I had fun, my trainer rocked, I met some cool people too in the process. The changing room was traumatising though, and I cannot say I saw significant changes in my body. I stopped because it got too expensive, but I am still scouting for a cheaper one for next year.

Work wise this year was quite the stressful one I must admit. It was really challenging, and so hard. There were so many times I wanted to say ‘To hell with this ish’ but I soldiered on, and all my diligence paid off. I found myself in the ‘area’ I have been trying to run away from, new job role, and so far I like it, every day is a new learning experience.

I experienced a lot of disappointments in 2012 in various arenas, and said experiences have made me lose faith in a lot of things,and people. Hopefully by next year this will all just be a bad memory and I will not be afraid to raise my hopes up when it comes to those arenas.

I do feel that people do not always extend the same courtesy that I do to them, I won’t lie, sometimes I wonder what is the point. But I have decided I will not change certain traits about me that are intrinsic. I will simply just be me..

I have stumbled upon this post just now, I had to stop and chuckle at how my description of myself hit the nail on the head:

‘I am the proverbial single girl, with very little relationship experience, loose lips but good morals’

Sadly I still have not found what I was looking for in that post, 2013 best deliver 🙂

I have no idea what I did for Easter, which goes to show how memorable it wasn’t lol, but I remember being too busy to make any grand plans. Hopefully next year will be better.

This year I got a whole lot serious with my side hustle, and it has been fun so far, I have met so many people and learnt so much. Some people may think that this whole thing will not take me anywhere, but who said it is about the destination? I have no idea where I am going with this, I just revel in the joy and pride that this venture gives me. Anyone who does not understand that, does not understand me!

Being an avid kwaito fan, Dj Cleo’s concert was definitely one of my highlights this year!! I had so much fun, if he was to come back to Kenya I would see him again.

My family experienced a great loss this year, materially, but it still was a significant hit. One of the biggest lessons I learnt, which I need to keep reminding myself is to not value material things. You can loose them in a flash. My family is pretty strong, and brave, and God never forgets his people..

I did not go for Safari Sevens this year, because earth dance, which was beyond awesome 🙂 But next year I hope these organisers find their own weekends to do these things  and not make us have to choose.

I also attended concours for the first time, it was fun, but I think next time I will go with girls who do not give a damn about cars 🙂

I was priviledged enough to go on a mini holiday in October, and it was beyond awesome!! I need more holidays in my life, prepping for one end of this week, and next year I must go abroad. Have you noticed people only use Facebook Places when they are abroad? Mscheuww talk about feelishaing people, I must do that soonest too :p

The year has ended with so many people I love coming home for Christmas, and it has been a blast having them around.

We survived the ‘apocalypse’  let us all continue drinking to that!

Some of you may have noticed I did not do 12 guest posts for Christmas, I do not know if I ever will again, I do not feel like scouting for people and begging them to meet my deadlines for this post. But, if you ever want to do a guest post on Revealed, feel free to hit me up, I will gladly host you here 🙂

This is technically the last week of 2012, and now that I have taken this time to review my year, I can definitely say I have had better years than this, but I have definitely learnt a lot from my mistakes and experiences.

I pray for a better year ahead, more joy, laughter and happiness, plenty of God’s blessings.

Thank you for taking the time to read this blog, hopefully next year I will be a more diligent blogger, you guys rock, never forget that.

deuces

 

From the bottom of my heart,

kevin

kevin2

 

asta la vista baby :-*

sig3

5 thoughts on “2012, the year that was…

  1. Pingback: 2013 in review | Revealed

Leave a Reply

