God grant me the serenity…


God grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change;
courage to change the things I can;
and wisdom to know the difference.

Living one day at a time;
Enjoying one moment at a time;
Accepting hardships as the pathway to peace;
Taking, as He did, this sinful world
it is, not as I would have it;
Trusting that He will make all things right
if I surrender to His Will;
That I may be reasonably happy in this life
and supremely happy with Him
Forever in the next.
Amen.
.
.
.
This prayer has been in my head for a while now, and echo’s what I need from God.
There are somethings which I am having difficulties accepting.
My grandfather is dying… This is still a bitter pill to swallow.
I ask the Lord to give him strength, knowing deep down inside, that he is too weak to muster the strength needed to fight this.
I never pray for a miracle, I have not witnessed enough of them to believe in their possibilities.
Prayer seems very futile right now since I know what I truly want may not be feasible.
Now I simply pray for him not to suffer or feel any pain.
I now pray to accept what seems to be God’s will.
There is nothing I can do to change this.
For the things that I can change in my life,
I cannot be the only one with the power to change things,
They also have that ability,
Yet they choose not to take any action,
Or make any effort.
Seeing that I am the only factor of change,
That alone makes this something that I cannot change.
So I am letting go and letting God.
I just pray this decision is final..

4 thoughts on “God grant me the serenity…

    • Wyndago!!! Dang it’s been a while since you were around here, thanks for coming back 🙂
      How do I open my spiritual eyes?

  1. Job 42. 2 I know you can do all things , no purpose of yours can be thwarted.
    Nkirdizzle , the Lord is sovereign , and His sovereignty is laced with love .For your grandfather , know that his Redeemer lives and that in the end He will see God.
    We surrender it all , we turn it all over , it belongs to you Lord.

    • This almost made me cry, and reminded me of that song, all to Jesus I surrender.
      I think I have surrendered it all to him, may his will be done..

Leave a Reply

