Thank Me Later


After the unbelievable success of Drake’s mix tape ‘So Far Gone’, his debut album “Thank Me Later’ is finally out. Despite the fact that it was leaked on the internet weeks before it was released, the album is number 1 on the Billboard 200, RnB/Hiphop albums chart, Rap Album chart and it is the number 1 Canadian Album go figure 🙂 The album sold 447,000 copies in its first week, which is the Year’s 3rd best sales week for an album.

So I will give you a run through of my take on the songs featured in this album and the rhymes that caught my ‘eye’ ears:

Fireworks

I am such a gentleman, You should give it up for me.

Ladies, please do not fall for this line 🙂

Alicia Keys does the hook on this track, I find it kind of monotonous, but it really has staying power because ‘All I see is Fireworks’ is left playing in your head over and over again. I wish she had like a verse on this song though, I think she could have contributed a whole lot more to this track.

Karaoke

The 1st love is the sweetest, but that 1st cut is the deepest..

That line really stands out in this song. I think it sounds very Sadeish i’m not such a huge fan, yeah i said it!

Resistance

I’m living inside a moment, not taking pictures to save it.

It’s too mellow for my liking…

Over

This was the first song released in this album, and I think it’s one of the best songs on it. The instrumentals and beats on this joint are just divine. Drake kills it, and thanks to him, everyone is doing themselves 🙂

One thing about music when it hits you, you feel no pain

Show me a good time

It has some nice beats, I see this song becoming a hit soon..

Up all night feat. Nicki Minaj

Miss Minaj is kind enough to inform us about how she has made a million from a mixtape, well madam, where’s the album???

I expected a lot more from the two of them, I found this song lack luck lustre to say the least.

Fancy feat. Swizz Beats & T.I

Oh you fancy huh?!

T.I, how have I missed this man! You’ve just gotta love his southern swag. I like the outerlude of this song.

Shut it down feat The Dream

Radio Killer makes an appearance on this album. We have yet another cool outerlude.

Unforgettable feat Young Jeezy

Aaliyah’s ‘Let me know’ has been sampled giving you a nostalgic feeling from the second you begin listening to  this track.

The pain hurts like a cut from a beautiful knife.

Young Jeezy and Drake together managed to work some amazing magic.

Light Up feat JayZ

Anything featuring Jigga and I am sold signed! sealed! delivered!

I like the chorus.

Miss me feat Lil Wayne

Yeah I am Weezy but I ain’t asthmatic.

This album would not be complete without Drake’s mentor Weezy F Baby please say the baby.

Find your love

The first time I heard this song, I actually thought it was sang by Kanye because his name is written all over it.

Picture him writing 'Produced by Yeh'

The beats are just crazy, Kanye West still has it when it comes to production. Drake sounds amazing on this joint, and even live he can still pull the song of. Check this live performance out, though I think the band sorta let him down.

I’m more than just an option, refuse to be forgotten.

This is one of my favorite jams, love the video as well, it has a great story line that chic has got back, it is too big to be real.

With this album Drake has managed to show the world his versatility when it comes to rapping and singing, though I feel like most of the songs have the same sort of feel to them. There is nothing really different about most of them. In my opinion, this album did not live up to the hype..

Leave a Reply

