A little chat with my 13-year-old self


I was tagged by the lovely MizCassandrae to go back in time and send a message to my 13 yr old lil self, so here goes nothing.

Wasup little girl,

First up, I am sure you realized that Y2K was just a bunch of nonsense. The world is not ending, apparently it’s going to end in 2012, so you can stop partying like its 1999, and party like its 2012.

It is really important that this message gets to you days before you turn 13. You may not know it now, but you are about to lose someone very close to you. So if this reaches you in time, when guests come home to visit you for chama, go hang out with Tea bags, get to know each other and have fun together, because it will be the last time you will ever see him, touch him, talk to him, so make it memorable and enjoy it to the fullest, otherwise you will regret having never really interacted with him before he died πŸ˜₯

You are in standard 8 now, so you need to start taking your studies seriously. Just because the exams have multiple choice does not mean you have to wing it missy. Mocks are not a mockery of exams, they are an insight to what K.C.P.E will be like, so when Mr. Warutere tells you that what you score in Mocks will be what you score in K.C.P.E, take him seriously. Do not just laugh at how his butt wiggles when he writes on the blackboard.

I know right now your very shy around people, even your own family, but do not worry, you will get over it. In a few years, you will be the life of the party.

Cherish the friends you have now, because in a few years you will kind of drift apart, but not to worry, Nairobi seems to have shrunk, so you will keep bumping into them. In fact, all the ‘cool dudes’ that chics used to chase after, are your good friends now. So even though you barely talk to them, it ain’t no thing, you will have more meaningful conversations with them, after puberty has destroyed their youthful good looks :p

By the way, not that you care, but 10 years from now shit I’m old you will look stunning! I know it sucks that mum won’t let you perm your hair, but she know’s what she is saying. When you join high school next year, all permed out everything, your hair will fall out. So cherish that nappy hair, because you are going to lose it soon.

Maybe I should give you a heads up, you’re going to fail K.C.P.E, do not give in to your illusions of grandeur once you hear results are out. Just because your school performs well, doesn’t mean you will to. In fact you should just go register in Isiolo, you may emerge at least in the top 10 of that province lol. But you do not need to do that, even if you will feel like the world is over, it really is not. It is all part of the grand master plan that God has for you.

You will go to great high schools, and you will have the time of your life so do not worry about it one bit.

I am glad to inform you that your infatuation with accessories will grow, you will actually start buying your own make up rather than getting it from shout magazines πŸ™‚ You will become so obsessed with jewellery as you will soon come to discover, so let your creative juices flow because soon you will be making your own stuff πŸ™‚

Take care of Vinnie and puss because they will not be there forever, so every time you hold puss, do it like it’s for the last time, and do the same whenever you play with Vinnie.

Make sure you attend all the Safari rallies that your uncle participates in, he may not do it forever. So enjoy perks like going to the service park and hanging with the service crew, and hanging with him, you may learn a lot about cars.

I won’t lie, this will be a tough year for you and your family, but you guys are strong, you will make it by God’s grace.

I must say though, you are such a good kid, I barely knew what advice to give you. Keep doing what you do because your mapping your way to a good future with few regrets.

Yours faithfully,

Oh so I am meant to tag some people, so here are some regular bloggers I am sure will not break the chain:

Joliea

Biche

Chiira

Soapaholic

13 thoughts on “A little chat with my 13-year-old self

  1. Chiira Maina has been tagged to write a letter to his 13-year old self. Let him rack his brain and see what the 13-year old does.
    Would have thought you were always the life of the party πŸ™‚

  2. LOOL!!

    Haya! I see u got mobs to tell….I wonder if the same applies to me hehe! Lets see how much I can chokora from my archives! πŸ™‚

    p,s….uko sure haku kua na kalongolongo?? πŸ˜€

    • By Kalongolongo you mean the game? lol if you are asking if there was a boy confusing me, there was none, I had no boy trouble at all so life was pretty easy and relaxed.

  3. Sweety…if I smile real cute will you email me a picture of your form 1 self with the shaved head? πŸ˜›

    • ha! fat chance, i have actually never shaved off all of my hair. My hair just really cut on one side because I used to go swimming every day and I never used to take care of it properly (girly stuff I am sure you do not need to know the details, but in a nutshell, permed nappy hair needs to be washed and treated like bi-weekly, but it should be washed whenever it gets chlorine from swimming pools etc….you have been schooled) So anyway I just trimmed it and when I transferred to a swimming pool less school with blow drying services, my hair grew back πŸ™‚

  4. I loved Y2K, they were so cute (am not sure if am confusing with B2K) and Imajin and Shout mags! The free makeup was awesome!
    Such a change! I can’t believe you once were shy

    • Yeah your confusing with B2K πŸ™‚ Y2K is short for the year 2000, remember when guys thought technology would crash because of the Y2K bug?
      Babes, I was shy, I really got out of my shell when I went to high school.

  5. Pingback: To Thirteen Year Old Me….. « The Trot and The Run

  6. Pingback: Dear 13 Yr Old Me… « Me I Think…

  7. Pingback: heads up to 13 year ol’ me | Confessionsofasoapaholic's Blog

  8. Loved this letter and @lilburdy miss those tumags with the free make up, do they still exist?
    Funny my 13 yr old self the world would end in 2000

    • I think the magazines are still there but more expensive, but I haven’t seen them in a while.
      You should do your letter to the little Trish!

Leave a Reply

