40 Days and 40 nights


Today, Ash Wednesday, marks the beginning of Lent, which is the 40 day period leading to Easter when we commemorate the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ.

I am Catholic, but I have not been to church for the longest while 😦  I feel bad that I cannot attend mass today. That kinda makes me miss school because we had a chapel there.

When my friend told me Lent starts this week, I was kinda excited, a chance to abstain from doing things that I like, and dedicate more time to God.

My fast during this Lent period is for Men. No meeting new men, flirting, playing games, getting emotionally attached, getting physical, I won’t have none of that happening for the next 40 days and 40 nights.

Unlike Josh Hartnet in the movie 40 days 40 nights, this will not be difficult for me. I will not be seeing abs and biceps when I look at men when I walk down the street, and I really doubt there will be such a strong source of temptation so it will be breezy.

I am also having an alcohol fast. I am not a drinker per se, in fact I do not crave alcohol so much. It used to be I never crave alcohol, but nowadays I see lemons I just think of tequila, and I think about Brew Bistros cocktails every time I pass Ngong Road. The last two times I went out, I got very tipsy, borderline drunk, it was fun, but I prefer being the sober party in the group.

I wanna go back to that, being sober and alcohol free, drinking fanta or water at the club. Whenever someone offered to buy me a drink, I used to ask for the money, and needless to say they refused to give me the money :p And I do not understand why someone cannot just offer to buy me a soft drink.

This Lent I definitely want to pray more, and try going to church. I need to motivate myself, my parents are no help in that area, it is there fault I do not go to church as much :p

What are you fasting for during this Lent period??

xxx V xxx

16 thoughts on “40 Days and 40 nights

  1. Although I am not fasting this lent in any way (because I am very ex-catholic), I wish you a soulful, spiritual Lent that takes you deeper in your walk with God!

  2. It special time for reflection on what is important in our lives. Sometime i don’t look at it based on what type of food or drink one has to give up during that period but what one has to strive to change for the good of everyone around, what one has to stop doing for the betterment of the mankind. I wish you the best during the entire Lent period

    • Thanks for sharing, thats some great food for thought. What I can I do for the betterment of mankind, definitely something worth thinking about.

  3. Pingback: The Prayer of Jabez by Bruce Wilkinson « Chick About Town

  4. Pingback: The Prayer of Jabez by Bruce Wilkinson

Leave a Reply

